Picture this.  Jason Bateman as a douche and Ryan Reynolds as a loving, caring father.  Wait, what?!  You read right, in the new movie “The Change-Up”, Ryan Reynolds’ character, an unemployed ladies’ man switches bodies with Jason Bateman’s character, an overworked lawyer and family man.  I haven’t seen Reynolds act this sweet since “Definitely, Maybe” and Bateman?  Well I don’t think I’ve ever seen Bateman act like this much of an asshole and yet it is a welcome change.  (Although he was a secret douche in “Juno.”)

This movie was absolutely hysterical!  It had me laughing throughout the entire movie, which would normally be a good thing if I wasn’t also drinking a margarita at the time and then had to pee for the whole second half.  (For those of you who have never suffered this torture, let me just tell you that you would much rather be sitting through a tear-jerker while your bladder slowly tries to explode than a movie that keeps you doubled over in stitches.)  And don’t worry, I was in one of the cool new-fandangled dine-in movie theaters where you’re actually allowed to have alcohol.  I’m not cool enough to sneak alcohol into a theater in a thermos and a paper bag or something (as evidenced by the fact that I just said ‘thermos’ AND a paper bag).

I just wanted to take the time and blog about this movie because it has been a while since I’ve seen a comedy worth talking about.  Thankfully, I didn’t feel like I wasted $15 in a theater this time!  (Yes, it actually cost $15- that’s what the world is coming to.)  It was a very well-written, well-acted, and well-directed movie and I would most definitely encourage comedy-lovers out there to go see it.  I refuse to write an entire review of the movie because well, I’m lazy and movie-reviews always annoy me.  You don’t need to know the details of the movie before you go see it; that defeats the purpose.  You know my opinion, now go out and make one of your own!

Leave a comment